Leave a comment

Why I’m Okay With Religion

A Response to the Viral Video ‘Why I Hate Religion But Love Jesus’

20120112-015047.jpg
It’s hard to disagree with the Spoken Word Poet in his latest video, but some of his verbal assault on religion was misplaced.

The Poet, Jeff Bethke, did mention many true points. However, his attack on religion was overemphasized and may add more confusion than clarity.

First of all, I don’t think it was necessary to put Jesus versus religion. I’m actually okay with religion. The Bible, which Jeff says he loves, even mentions God accepting pure and undefiled religion (James 1:27).

Yes, religion can tie up people with rules and regulations, but they are meant to bring obedience to God. On the other hand, I do have a problem with man-made religion which produces self-righteousness out of obedience to men.

This is the main difference, which I believe the video did not portray accurately. Yes, Jesus came to bring salvation to everyone, but I don’t think Jesus came to abolish religion. True religion can serve a great purpose.

Lastly, I like Jeff’s message, but I think many people may see this as an invitation to hate religion altogether, eventhough the Bible says it can serve God’s purposes.

Share Your Thoughts

