Leave a comment

Writers Versus Texters

Lost Art of Writing: How to Remain a Writer Among a Text Culture

Screen shot 2014-11-23 at 12.34.00 PMIf you are reading this you are participating in a culture of social media. Among this culture are those who text so much they think they are writers. They are what I refer to as ‘Textsters.”

Have you ever got a text that stood for something you didn’t know? These textsters are changing how we communicate. Today’s young culture even use text language in conversations. This communication becomes shortened words with acronyms making us sound like robots.

Don’t get me wrong. I text daily, but it feels like I’m cheating my language. I often catch myself texting acronyms or slang words. Even though I try not to use these words, I still do. I guess texting is just easier for us.

In fact, it’s easier for everybody. Last year, I was with my two-year old niece, and she unsurprisingly got a hold of my phone. Within seconds she sent a text to my girlfriend. The message didn’t make sense, but the point is a young child can grab, touch, and send a text in a blink of an eye.

On the other hand, true writing is not easy nor popular. I’ve written many essays, blogs, and articles and short stories. All of these are draining. There’s deep thinking involved and plenty of editing. This type of writing takes hours, days, months, and years. The end product separates a writer from a textster.

Sadly, texting is taking over. It is quickly becoming accepted everywhere including the workplace. I’m obviously not against texting, but it should never replace good old-fashion writing.

Here are three ways to be a writer and not a textster.

1. Clear and Organized :: Writing that is understandable and detailed will always be effective to the average reader. When people have to research and ask around for the meaning of your work then you might be a textster.

2. Proofread :: If you want somebody to read your writing then make it readable. A quick double glance never hurt anybody. It’s normal to mess up your words, but if it’s consistent then edit.

3. Intentional :: Professionals will take you serious if you write what you mean. Throwing a “jk” after a sentence will make you a textster not a writer. Also, writing must always have meaning. We shouldn’t force people to read our gibberish words. This will numb our minds and create a culture of illiteracy.

Ultimately, I believe writers are artists, therefore writing is a piece of art. It’s art for the mind. When we make writing boring chit-chat then the beauty of art is lost. Let’s slow down our texting and start creating.

Share Your Thoughts

